Mmm! Introducing… Yestercake

15 Jul

It’s not just at weddings when you’re allowed to enjoy a cake or two, in fact every day is cake day in our household! (Probably not the best motto to have when trying to lose weight for our wedding but oh well). Your wedding cake however, is a big part of your day that not only you as the bride and groom enjoy but also adds a little bit of indulgence for your guests.

I would like to introduce to you fellow Yorkshire girl Sarah, a dab hand at conjuring up very pretty things in baking department and owner of Leeds based cake outfitters Yestercake. I want cake now…

Yestercake is a new business that launched in January 2011. I decided to combine my passion and love for vintage inspirations with my role as ‘official cake baker’ for friends and family and share it with a wider audience. The business idea got started when I got married in November 2009. When we were looking for cakes we found many cake companies only seemed to offer a ‘one-fits-all’ approach. There didn’t seem to be much scope for pure bespoke designs. I wanted to offer something a little bit different.

I’d say the best bit about what I do is getting to meet amazing people and design something purely for them – something that reflects their personality. I love developing a brief and the bespoke nature of my business – it means I can do something completely off the wall, classic or kitsch.

My inspiration can come from anything, including: jewellery, dress designs, architecture, wedding theme, a client’s particular loves or interests. When I do a cake consultation I liken it to a transformation via the dressing-up box. We try on different things until we find something that ‘fits’ and showcases them.

As for wedding trends I think people are starting to look for something unique and not ‘off-the-peg’. Many people are starting to want something a bit different from the traditional idea of a wedding cake. Rustic/vintage type designs are very popular as are cake tiers in various heights with beautiful hand painted or piped details. I’ve also been asked recently about dessert tables. I think people like this as their guests get a wider selection of cake. In my view you can never have too much cake!

I have to say Sarah, I like your thinking! Whoever said that you have to go out of Yorkshire to find the best wedding suppliers? Thank you Sarah for sharing your wonderful cake creations with us, loving the leopard print!

Laura x

2 Responses to “Mmm! Introducing… Yestercake”

  1. Jessica July 15, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    These all look divine!

    • BonfireNightBride July 15, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

      Just how adorable is that daisy cake?!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 212 other followers

