The Birth of Share Something Wedding

26 Aug

Like any sort of community, the wedding world can come across as rather cliquey and it is no secret that this really bugs me. After all, without us brides to be wedding suppliers would not have anybody to supply TO. A couple of weeks back I received a very exciting email from fellow bride to be, Laura Babb aka Babb Photo telling me that she’d noticed me tearing my hair out at the super chumminess of the twitter wedding community and what did I think to organising something – a party/get together/photo shoot, call it what you wish, for us smaller bloggers and wedding suppliers.

I was amazingly flattered being Laura’s first port of call and couldn’t wait to get going with the project (after my own wedding of course – as much as I’d like to think I’m super woman I can only organise one thing at a time!! :)) Straight away I knew the very person to ask for help with pulling together something so fab – Phoebe from Miller Weddings. Or as I know her, quite simply, Miller.

We decided, however, to put the get together on the backburner until we gathered enough interest (if any!) in our ultimate goal – to create a community of like minded wedding folk willing to share and help each other with anything wedding.

Then came Share Something Wedding.

Whether (you’re trying to achieve) an amazing wedding or building a successful business, lots of people only sell us the good stuff and sometimes we want to hear about other people’s struggles and how they’ve over come them, so that we know we’re not alone,” as Laura Babb puts it on the dedicated SSW blog, “We want to make the site completely open so that anyone can submit something (even anonymously if you don’t want to put your name out there) including new businesses who are looking for advice and support.”

If you are a bride to be, wedding supplier, blogger, newly engaged, recently married, celebrating a golden anniversary, thinking of starting out a wedding related business… in fact absolutely anything wedding related we’d love to hear from you!

To sign up to the Share Something Wedding forum – http://sharesomethingwedding.ning.com/

To share something, email us at sharesomethingwedding[at]gmail.com

Follow SSW on twitter – http://twitter.com/ShareSomeWed

Laura x

2 Responses to “The Birth of Share Something Wedding”

  1. Nikki Ward August 26, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    What a fab idea hon x

  2. Amy Georgina August 30, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    Yes, yes yes, I’m all over this, I hate the clique but love some of you girls I’ve met over on the ‘dark side’ although, I think we should be called the ‘nice side’!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 212 other followers

