Danby Castle – My Dream Wedding Venue

23 Feb

 

View over the Esk Valley

 

From the off we knew that we wanted somewhere a bit different to host our big day. A lot of weddings tend to be ruled by the ‘cans’ and ‘can’ts’ of its venue but we wanted somewhere as laid back as us and it didn’t take us long to find our dream venue. In fact Danby Castle near Whitby in the North Yorkshire Moors was the first place we viewed and we didn’t look any further… we were sold within the first five minutes! Its beautiful views, the history surrounding the castle, the quirkiness and most of all the people. Carolyn and hubby Duncan seemed so happy to have us there, offered ideas from the off and were very much the sort of people that we wanted to help us with our big day.

Bride and grooms all wish for something different for their special day and it is for this reason that weddings at Danby Castle are completely tailored to whatever you need to make this wish come true from the food, to entertainment, to decor. No matter how weird or wonderful your dream wedding may be Danby Castle will do their very best to make it come to life!

Beautiful window in the Court Room

Myself and my fiance, along with the help of my parents (and Carolyn of course) are planning the wedding ourselves. As time consuming as it is, it is going to be so nice to know on the actual day that all of our ideas have been brought to life by us and I just know that all the hard work that we will have put in will be so worth it. Since booking our wedding over a year ago there has been many a time when Carolyn has received a late night email about something that has just popped into my head. I’m not actually sure if Carolyn sleeps as she always seems to reply straight away putting my mind at rest, I honestly don’t know what I’d do without her. She really does deserve a medal for her hard work and willingness to help at all costs!

Part of the ruins and entrance to the bar

I have always been a stickler for winter. I love everything about the season – the wrapping up warm on cold days, the food, the magical atmosphere of cloudy rainy days (yes I’m strange I know!)  so a winter wedding was always on the cards.  I have already bought my special wedding shoes – gold glitter wellies courtesy of Dame Vivienne Westwood. With those I am ready to take on the world!

The Court Room

With the ceremony carried out in the beautiful stone ‘court room’ where the Danby Court Leet still meet today and the bar in the threshing  barn Danby Castle is an ultimately unique venue. Our bonfire night wedding at the castle over looking the Esk Valley is going to be just perfect.  Perfect for us. 

(Photos are my own and courtesy of Carolyn Bavister)

2 Responses to “Danby Castle – My Dream Wedding Venue”

  1. Daisy Lewis May 22, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    We’re getting married at Danby castle too! I can’t wait – looking for ideas of where to stay on the wedding night – have you got any suggestions?

    • BonfireNightBride May 22, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

      yeay another danby castle couple, it’s great to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

