The Search for Sparkly Bridal Shoes – DIY Shoe Crystalling

1 Jun

I am a sucker for rubbish TV and after being glued to the BBC’s Over the Rainbow where the contestants wore the most amazing crystalled court shoes in varying colours I decided I NEEDED those shoes for my wedding. After trawling the internet for the makers of the gorgeous glitzy shoes shown on the BBC programme I discovered that they were made by wedding shoe favourite Rainbow Club however, each pair were said to retail at around £1000. Not quite having that much spare money in my pocket the search for a cheaper alternative had begun.

Source

 

I came across a great company called Perdita’s Wedding Shoes that offer an array of wedding shoes by Rainbow Club and Filippa Scott to name just a couple. The company run a bespoke shoe crystalling service adorning any shoes bought from them in Swarovski crystals which I was thinking of using but then after a tweet around Christmas time from the lovely Bride Fairy suggesting that I do my own I thought ‘yeah why not give it a try.’  

As mentioned in my Gorgeous High Street Bridal Shoes feature I found some perfect ivory satin bridal shoes from Schuh called Forest Side Bow which were just right as a base for my crystals too. 

Now I had the shoes it was time to decide which crystals to use. I decided against cheaper acrylic crystals as I wanted something a bit better quality that would give maximum sparkle! Swarovski crystals however, were just that little bit too expensive. I found something inbetween. Preciosa Viva 12 Czech cut glass crystals to be precise, which I bought from a company called Stage Jewellery, an authorised seller of Preciosa Viva 12 crystals. I chose to use the AB colour in three different sizes – 1.90-2mm (SS6), 2.70-2.80mm (SS10) and 3-3.20mm (SS12) in the foiled (glue on/non hotfix) variety.

When I purchased the crystals I wasn’t sure whether I was going to cover the whole of the shoes or just the heels so I bought the three sizes in packs of 1440 just to be sure I had enough crystals whichever I decided to do. I did however decide to just cover the heels so I have plenty of crystals left over if I ever want to bling up another pair of shoes!

 

If you would like to crystal your own shoes here are some easy to follow step by step instructions:

You will need:

– Crystals in your chosen colour (non hotfix)

Jewel setter

Gemtac glue

– Shoes

– Cocktail sticks

Take a cocktail stick and spread a small section of the heel of your shoe with the glue. Then pick up a crystal with the jewel setter and place on the glue. If you do not like where you have placed the crystal use the other end of the jewel setter to push the crystal around to a more suited position before the glue sets.

Now just repeat this process crystal by crystal until you have covered the whole heel. From here you can decide whether you want to cover the whole shoe or just leave it at the heels. Either way looks great! The process can be quite time consuming however once you have finished your shoes will look amazing. It gives such a personal touch aswell.

Please note – if you have pets, especially cats or dogs, it’s a good idea to keep them away while you are crystalling your shoes. My dog, being the nosey lively thing that she is caused a quite few near spills of thousands of expensive crystals!

 

And now for the finished shoes…

Since finishing my shoes I have been in contact with Schuh who were very impressed with my efforts. So much so that they asked if they could feature my shoes on their blog! I was so happy, it really did make all the hard work and time consumed worthwhile. You can see the post on the Schuh blog here.

Thanks for reading and I’d love to hear from you if you decide to take the plunge and crystal your own wedding shoes.

Laura x

 

8 Responses to “The Search for Sparkly Bridal Shoes – DIY Shoe Crystalling”

  1. sarah June 2, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    they look amazing Laura well done x

    • BonfireNightBride June 2, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

      aw thank you hunni 🙂 x

  2. blondeviki June 2, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    Wow! They’re ace – they look as good as the bought-ones I’ve seen! How long did it take to complete the transformation?

    I didn’t want sparkly shoes til I saw this and now with your guide I want to have a go! It’s a really good way to perk up a pair of heels that may have got scratched too, come to think of it. *plots*

    • BonfireNightBride June 2, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

      they took about 8 hours a shoe but that’s with a lot of distractions, could be done a LOT quicker once you have the hang of it and if you crack on with it. thanks chick, that’s a great compliment!

      oooh i never thought about covering scratched heels, that’s a great idea!

      you should definitely have a go. if you do i’ll definitely need to see the pics please x

  3. Kristen August 15, 2011 at 4:20 am #

    Love this DIY! Thanks for sharing!! Love the bit on the tip of shoe as well!

  4. bridalmusings August 15, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Amazing! They look incredible ~ well done, all that hard work really did pay off. Bet you just can’t wait to wear them now!

    • BonfireNightBride August 15, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      Thank you Elizabeth 🙂 Have to say I am very proud of them, it’s just a shame that I won’t be able to wear them for long. Will be slipping straight into my flatties after the ceremony! hehe x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fancy blinging up your shoes? - April 23, 2013

    […] version of this post was originally posted on Bonfire Night Bride on 1st June, […]

Leave a Reply

