Real Yorkshire Wedding – Leonie & Stew

5 Jul

Last month I posted the adorable engagement shoot of Vancouver based lovers Leonie & Stew. Now I have the wedding for all to see! The ceremony took place in a beautiful luxury North Yorkshire hotel, Rudding Park. Set in Harrogate, Stew’s hometown, the couple had a lovely and very personal wedding day filled with sentiment. Another fab shoot by Chris Jackson, here is what he had to say about the day…

Leonie & Stewart are a lovely couple from Vancouver, Canada who gave me the pleasure of photographing their wonderful wedding in April 2011 at Rudding Park, Harrogate.

I arrived nice and early and caught up with the Bride and found Leonie and her Mum & sister all very calm and cool with the air conditioning on in the preparation room. There was some slight confusion as they had to transfer to another room so I left them to sort that out and went for a tour around. I started by capturing the below ‘scene setter’ showing off the lovely exterior of Rudding Park, this is actually the side entrance, but was obviously the main entrance to the manor house in its former days.

I then caught up with Leonie and her make up artist who weren’t quite ready for the ‘preparations’ photo’s to start so I got access to the bridal suite to capture her elegant & beautiful wedding dress. The windows of the room were almost floor to ceiling so I used the natural light that was beaming through the windows to create this ‘halo’ effect by closing the curtains to form a ‘strip light’.

I let Leonie slip into her dress along with the bridesmaids whilst I captured the above image of Leonie’s Mum looking through a scrapbook of memories & photos of her & Stewart’s time together. There were a few rib ticklers in there as you can see from the above reactions.

Also you will notice the ‘Wedding signing board/photo/mount’ which I gave one of the bridesmaids to give to Leonie so I could capture her reaction as the couples don’t see this until the big day, I like to keep it a bit of a surprise.

Leonie & the bridesmaids waited just outside the back entrance to the room while the guests were being seated. I then took place at the front to capture Stewart being as cool as a cucumber waiting for his beautiful bride to enter.

Above is one of my favourite images of the day and is what became the image used on their wedding CD. It encompasses what Leonie & Stewart really are. In the little time I got to spend with them on the engagement shoot & the wedding day itself they are a really down to earth couple with such huge hearts and a strong love for each other.

I was delighted that the newly weds, Mr Stewart Harper & Mrs Leonie Harper chose me to photograph & document their beautiful wedding at Rudding Park, Harrogate. It was an honour & a privilege to be part of their special day and I’m happy to say that they absolutely loved the photographs and are now awaiting their CD in the post in Vancouver. Congratulations to Mr & Mrs Harper.

Such a lovely wedding day captured by Chris, a big thank you to him. I love the Canadian wedding cake! A huge congratulations to Leonie & Stew, all the best for your future as Mr and Mrs!

Laura x

One Response to “Real Yorkshire Wedding – Leonie & Stew”

Leave a Reply

