Introducing… Victoria Mary Vintage

22 Jul

I was recently contacted by Vicky at Victoria Mary Vintage and I have to say I am completely in awe of her beautiful vintage inspired bridal accessories, especially the Tea Party necklaces. Beautiful! Let me pass you over to the lady herself to tell you a little bit more about what she does best…

This is probably a familiar tale by now, but I set up Victoria Mary Vintage after I got married in December 2009. My wedding day look was very vintage and I really wanted to keep the vintage look going throughout my accessories. I was wearing my grandmother’s pearls (a gorgeous double row of them!) and combed antique sales until found the perfect pair of vintage rhinestone chandelier earrings. I then made my hair comb to match using a vintage rhinestone leaf brooch, accented with small pearls and swarovski crystals.


Soon after that friends were asking me to design their wedding jewellery and headpieces, so I launched my business in early 2010 selling a selection of one-of-a-kind pieces – tiaras, headbands, necklaces, bracelets, earrings… My materials are primarily freshwater pearls (there’s nothing like real pearls) and vintage aurora borealis crystals combined with vintage rhinestone or enameled pieces, and usually scattered with a few extra swarovski crystals. I have also started a range called the Nantucket Collection (named after the little island Nantucket, near where I grew up in Boston, Massachusetts) which adds pale gemstones (rose quartz, fluorite and jade) to the vintage crystals and freshwater pearls, giving the jewellery a pale, washed-out beachy look.


I have been making jewellery in one form or another for my whole life, so I adore now being able to make bespoke handmade wedding jewellery for brides. I love the the look of vintage jewellery – there is something just so glamorous about it, when the shiny newness has worn off leaving just the well-worn sparkle. And I love thinking of the history of a piece of jewellery – isn’t it fabulous that the brooch that’s been refashioned into your bridal headband was perhaps once worn on a gorgeous dress to a decadent party in the 20’s?



As a whole, my business is inspired by the feminine glamour of the 20th century leading up to the early 60’s, and the care that women took in how they dressed themselves – making sure their lipstick was perfect and their hat, shoes and handbag matched before going out; their hair was always neat, and it was perfectly acceptable to wear little gloves wherever you went. I like to think the jewellery I create will make the women who wear it on their wedding feel just as beautiful and feminine, and will give them something gorgeous to treasure long after their wedding day.



On a day-to-day basis, however, my inspiration comes from little things – usually some new materials I have found or a beautiful brooch I bought at an antique fair. The colour, texture and lines of the material build themselves up into a whole design – I love creating swirly, twirly Art Nouveau designs out of rows of pearls and crystals. I am currently very excited about some beautiful old sea glass that is on its way to me in the post – not sure what it will become yet but I will know when I see it!



I launched my new website www.victoriamaryvintage.com last week and am running a 15% discount offer all next week (code is “launch15”). I also run a blog on all kinds of vintage bridal style at victoriamaryvintage.blogspot.com.

Now can you see what I meant about being so pretty?! Thank you Vicky for getting in touch, I absolutely adore your designs 🙂

Laura x

One Response to “Introducing… Victoria Mary Vintage”

  1. Vicky {Victoria Mary Vintage} July 22, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    Love it – what a fabulous post, thanks so much Laura! And keep up the very lovely blog 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

