Oooh, Suzanne Neville & Jimmy Choo! – Sarah & Wayne

28 Jul

Sarah, also known as the lady behind couture wedding and occasion cake company, Frosted Delight, sent me her gorgeous wedding last week. Any lady who choses a Suzanne Neville dress and Jimmy Choo shoes for her wedding day is my kinda girl! Sarah and Wayne’s beautiful Essex wedding took place on 31st July 2010 – my mum & dad’s anniversary!!

How did you meet and how did Wayne propose?

We met through friends when Wayne was in the army and I was a student nurse. We had been together 6 months before we got engaged on 2nd April 2008. He proposed at his army camp, I used to get the train from Essex to Wiltshire where he was based and he would pick me up from the train station. He was very late collecting me and I was not happy with him! We got back to his room and he had filled the room with candles and was playing Alanis Morrisette (my favourite singer) he got down on one knee and asked me to marry him with a ring that he chose himself. It was a perfect 18 carat white gold band and solitaire diamond. He had asked my dad and my brothers permission.

Tell me all about THE dress

I actually chose a different dress to start with, I was so caught up in the moment trying it on that I put a deposit down. Later on I realised that it really wasn’t the one and it wasn’t how I wanted to look on the day. I saw a Suzanne Neville dress in a bridal magazine and was amazed by how classic and elegant it was. I headed to the shop in Guildford, Surrey and fell in love with Honour, my dress. The staff at the shop were just fantastic and reminded me of the women from the show Absolutely Fabulous!
My dress was made to measure as opposed to off the peg. It has an amazing fishtail skirt and on one side lifts up to reveal netting underneath, making it quite unusual. It has beading around the waist and a sweetheart neckline, the train bustled up in the evening for dancing. I wore my late nan’s earrings in my bouquet. I wore earrings and a bracelet that Wayne surprised me with on the day and a cathedral length veil by Suzanne Neville. My shoes were classic ivory shoes with beaded detail from Jimmy choo, Sloane Street, they have since been dyed purple to wear again!

Did you have any bridesmaids?

My best friend Natalie was my maid of honour, we have been best friends since school. She also organized my amazing Mexican themed hen night. Waynes sister Yasmin was a bridesmaid, a good friend Sarah a bridesmaid and a friends daughter, Chloe, a flower girl. The girls all wore tea length, matt silver taffeta dresses from Dessy with black pom pom shoes from Next. My flower girl wore an ivory dress with a big silver ribbon around the waist, which was a large bow at the back.

The Ceremony and Reception

We were married at a religious ceremony in St Catherine’s Church in Wickford Essex. My brother walked me down the aisle to the traditional Wedding March and my mum read Corinthians 13:4-7 during the ceremony. The reception took place at Gosfield Hall, astunning Georgian manor house. It was the winner of Wedding Ideas Magazine “Best Wedding Venue 2011.” It was just beautiful and fit with the type of elegant wedding that I wanted. Also there are 21 bedrooms and we had many guests who wanted to stay overnight. On arival we had a choice of champagne and orange juice and a selection of amazing canapes including chocolate dipped strawberries, prawns, chicken, and many more! We had a sit down meal which was thai fish cakes to start, a choice of my favourite meal (lamb shank and mash) or Wayne’s favourite (pork sausages and mash) and a choice of pudding of my favourite (sticky toffee pudding and cream) or Wayne’s favourite (apple crumble and vanilla ice cream). In the evening we had a buffet and the cake was also served. Music was played during the meal, then a live band and DJ in the evening.

My brother, who gave the father of the bride speech, brought our childhood teddy turtles and put them on the top table, he then gave his speech from his I-pad as he knew how much it would make me laugh (we always joke he is a geek and the i-pad is an extension of his arm). Wayne’s best man Mark also completely left his prepared speech in nerves and started wittering on. It was extremely comical and heartwarming and really made the speech from the heart. Wayne’s speech to me was also something I will never forget. We then gave a speech together and gave out presents and bouquets of flowers to the wedding party and those that helped.

Our first dance was to Al Green’s ‘Let’s Stay Together.’

Our Honeymoon


We went to Rome immediately after our wedding for 5 days then a couple of weeks after we went to Bali for 10 days. In Rome we saw the sites, we went to http://www.romecavalieri.com/ and ate at their restaurant La Pergola which has 3 Michelin stars (we are both foodies!). We then went to Bali for 10 nights to relax and spent our time going to the beach, swimming and walking. We also went to an Elephant Sanctuary for a ride, swam with dolphins and met monkeys!  It was amazing!

It really does look like a great day was had by all. Thank you so much Sarah for sharing your special day with us!

Laura x

One Response to “Oooh, Suzanne Neville & Jimmy Choo! – Sarah & Wayne”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Introducing… Frosted Delight « - September 20, 2011

    […] in July I featured Sarah & Wayne’s beautiful traditional white wedding complete with Jimmy Choos! Sarah is also the lovely lady behind stunning couture cake company […]

Leave a Reply

