Introducing… Belle and the Bunting

2 Aug

I am excited to introduce to you Belle and the Bunting, a vintage inpired bunting hire company started earlier this year by the lovely Kerry. Based in the beautiful Somerset countryside, Belle and the Bunting offer handmade decorations for your wedding day or any other celebration, whatever your chosen colour scheme or style…

I have had the idea to set up a bunting hire company for some time now but as I have two small children I have not had the opportunity to do anything about it until now. Funny too, as bunting seems to be on the rise (in fact, a tongue in cheek article just last week said that bunting is replacing the cupcake, although not literally)!

I make all of the bunting myself, not only using tried and tested designers such as Cath Kidston and Laura Ashley but also designers such as Tanya Whelan. I love her designs, a real homage to 1950s florals, very pretty and just the kind of new ‘vintage’ I am aiming for. The flags are bigger and I provide up to 150 metres per design so there is plenty to decorate a small venue as well as a large marquee. My next design consists only of genuine vintage fabrics, cottons, linen, lace; anything I can lay my hands on.

I’m sure everyone who has an idea finds that it completely takes over their lives, and it’s been exactly the same for me! Even when I am having conversations I find my mind wandering back to bunting, fabrics I can use, how I’m going to make it, who should I be thinking of contacting next!!

I am new to the wedding world and I am learning so much. I imagined it would all be about the sourcing materials, the making and sewing but it’s so much more. I hadn’t realised just how much I missed working, doing something useful (hopefully) and meeting people. The social networking of this new little venture is also something I hadn’t anticipated on. I’ve made some great contacts, and I’m finding a whole load of like-minded people out there. The only thing is, because I’m getting so involved with the whole wedding market (I think this is where my product sits best), I’m getting quite jealous of all of you brides-to-be!

The actual product is made by myself at my home workshop. I try and use only the best products, there really is no substitute for quality and I think my customers appreciate that. There are a handful of companies who already hire bunting but I try to set myself aside by offering designs that have a contemporary vintage feel. I know that sounds like nonsense, but I really feel as though there is a bit of a movement which pays it dues to all things vintage whilst being new and fresh.

I absolutely love what I do and I hope this shows. I do it all myself and I’m not ashamed about letting people know. I also love that what I produce plays a part (albeit a very small one) in days that will be remembered forever.

You really can see that Kerry takes pride in what she does. I just love it when someone holds such a passion for what they do, it makes using their products so much more enjoyable!

For more information about Belle and the Bunting you can visit her website here. You can also keep up to date with all of the Belle and the Bunting news on facebook here.

Laura x

 

Leave a Reply

