The story behind a wedding ring

3 Aug

It’s been a good few months now since Tom and I bought our wedding rings. I saw my white gold and diamond band in the window of a jewellers in my hometown where Tom bought my engagement ring and loved it so much that I bought it there and then (thank goodness for credit cards!). Tom’s wedding ring however, holds a lot more sentiment than my own.

If you look closely at Tom’s band on the left you can see that it is very subtly half white gold and half yellow gold. There is a story behind this… Tom’s father Arthur very sadly is no longer with us, he was diagnosed with the awful and heart wrenching disease that is Alzheimers in 2004 and he passed away in November 2008 three days before his 70th birthday.  Arthur was the ultimate gentleman and it has to be said that Tom very much takes after his father. I am extremely lucky to be marrying such a kind, generous and well mannered man.

In his heyday Arthur was one of rugby league’s most outstanding fullbacks. He played rugby throughout the 50s, 60s and 70s for teams all over Yorkshire and was most significantly the star player for Hull FC in the 1960s.

With Tom having a natural love for the sport, on one of our first dates not long after we first met at Hull University in 2003 we got onto the subject of rugby. Now it’s fair to say that I’m definitely not a sport lover but I do come from a rugby family myself so at the time it was nice to discover that common ground. It wasn’t until that night however, that I found out the ‘common ground’ Tom and I discovered earlier that day was more close to home than we both originally thought. I went round to my parents and begun to tell my mum that I had met a wonderful guy at university and that his dad played rugby.

Upon describing Tom’s dad in more detail – he lives in Wakefield, he played rugby for Hull FC in the 60s, he was one of the best players and also played for Great Britain, yada yada yada my mum twigged. “It’s not Arthur Keegan is it?!” my mum asked in amazement. “Er, yes. Why, do you know him?” I replied, very shocked at my mum’s reaction. “Know him? He was your grandad’s star player when he managed the Great British rugby league team in the 1966 tour of Australia!” Oh. My. God.

My mum’s father, at the time when Arthur was a well known player in the rugby world, was the chairman of Hull Kingston Rovers and also managed the tour in which Tom’s dad played so the two knew each other very well. My mum also knew Arthur when she was a little girl following my grandad around on tours and at matches and she remembered Arthur to be a very well loved man by all. It also turns out that my mum has all of the old rugby photos from the 1966 tour with Toms dad, much to Tom’s delight as he had never seen the pictures before.

Arthur’s passing spread through the world of sport like wildfire even being an article on Sky Sports News. It wasn’t long before kind worded orbituaries like this one appeared for the family. Tom loved and looked up to his dad and he even has a tattoo tribute to him with the numbers of games his father played for Yorkshire, England and Great Britain. His wedding ring however brings the most sentiment to our wedding day. The yellow gold part of the ring is made from the gold of the signet ring that Arthur wore throughout his life, as a present he received from his parents on his 21st birthday. Arthur also wore it as his wedding ring when he married Tom’s mum. Tom asked his mum if he could use the ring as part of his wedding ring and as Tom is a twin he had the ring cut in half and gave the other half to his brother.

The ring will always bring about good memories of his dad and will mean more to him than just a wedding ring, it will be a reminder of his father and will hopefully be passed down through the Keegan generation.

Laura x

12 Responses to “The story behind a wedding ring”

  1. Babb Photo August 3, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    Wonderful post. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Fiona August 3, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    This is a really beautiful post, and a really lovely way for Tom to remember his father. Thanks so much for sharing it with us. x

    • BonfireNightBride August 3, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

      Thank you for your lovely words Fiona. Tom will be touched when I show him x

  3. Lauren- Bluetwentyone August 3, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    Ahh, what a lovely story!! You guys were destined for each other! A beautiful way to remember a loved one! x

    • BonfireNightBride August 3, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

      it appears so 🙂

      my mum loves telling the story to people but i have to admit it is very cute. thank you for your sweet words x

  4. Carolyn Bavister August 3, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    Aww Laura – that is such a beautiful story and I am sitting here sniffing with tears in my eyes! I want to give Tom a hug now lol and you of course for sharing it all. xxxx

    • BonfireNightBride August 3, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

      Aww you are so sweet! 🙂

      I just showed him the post, he loves it. He didn’t know I was going to write it x

  5. Lauren August 3, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    Such a lovely story 🙂 xxx

  6. Peridot August 4, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    That’s lovely. On a similar theme, I’m getting married with my grandmother’s wedding ring. It’s not much to look at (but my engagement ring fills that criteria in spades!) but it means so much to me, as she did.

  7. Suzanne September 26, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    Aw Wow! I always thought Tom was a lovely warm, witty guy but words can’t describe how wonderful and sentimental he is! What a fantastic guy, you’re a fantastic couple and that it a beautiful story and tribute!! Tears of joy for you both xxxx

    • BonfireNightBride September 26, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

      Awww thanks Suzanne! He really is one in a million, he definitely takes after his dad!

      I’m very lucky to be marrying such a gent 🙂 xxx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thursday Things « laurababb - August 4, 2011

    […] @_MissLouPops_ wrote about her husband to be’s wedding ring. Read her post. […]

Leave a Reply

