Bride to Be: Misha

12 Aug

It has been a few weeks since I featured my last bride to be so I’m very excited to introduce you to the lovely Misha, a fellow November bride. They certainly don’t come more adorable than this cute couple – Shaun’s proposal will, at the very least, give you a huge lump in your throat!

How did you meet and when did you know he is ‘the one’?
Shaun and I met a few years ago, through mutual friends. At first we weren’t massively keen on each other actually, but after a few drunken nights out we got to like each other as friends. Whilst I was still at Uni I found myself with a spare room in my flat, and Shaun asked if he could move in. Though I was dubious at first, I said yes, and it ended up being the best decision I’ve ever made! We got really close very quickly, we used to stay up late talking, have play fights whilst washing up in the kitchen and eventually it became blindingly obvious that there was something more to it than friendship. I knew he was ‘the one’ when I was away visiting my friend Emily, and she observed that she had never seen me happier than when I was around Shaun, and it was like the penny had finally dropped! I rushed back to London and waited up for Shaun to come back from work, then we had ‘the talk’ and ended up as a couple 🙂

Was the proposal everything you’d dreamed it would be?
YES! Shaun completely shocked me with how romantic his proposal was – I had massively underestimated him! On our 2 year anniversary, Shaun left the house early and my friend Emily put me in her car. She drove me on a tour of South London, and all of the places that were special to me and Shaun, such as our first flat, where we met, where we had our first date etc. At each stop there was a letter for me to open, (12 in total!), containing jokes, clues and romantic words about why the place was special and what it means to us. Eventually we got to Greenwich Park and there was a picture showing me where I had to go to find Shaun. I climbed to the top of the hill and there was a ‘happy anniversary balloon’ waiting for me, I turned around and saw Shaun heading over with Alfie (our lovely Jack Russell) who had a beautiful diamond ring on his collar! After much crying and hugging, I said yes and we sat down to a champagne picnic. Emily had caught the whole thing on camera and then took some lovely photos of us-ruined slightly by how much I was crying!

When and where is the big day?
We will be getting married on Saturday 3rd November 2012 in Brighton. The ceremony will be at the Town Hall, and the reception is at a lovely gastro pub called The Ginger Dog. If the weather allows us, we want to head to the pier in between the ceremony and the reception, to get all the guests on the waltzers and the ghost train!

Do you have a style in mind for your wedding?
We’re kind of going for a quirky, retro kind of style. We’ll be having lots of black, red and polka dot. As it will be quite a simple kind of wedding (what with the town hall, pub reception), we’re going to add a bit of drama with the style. Mostly, we just want it to be fun and not too formal; with funfair rides, silly photos, music and laughter.

Are you having bridesmaids?
I am indeed, there will be six! Excessive, I know, but I can’t help it. The bridesmaids will be in black dresses, with birdcage veils and lace gloves, there’ll be lots of red lipstick, adding to the retro, quirky feel of the day. As my dress is quite simple, I thought it would be fun to make the bridesmaids look quite dramatic-someone has to! As the wedding is in November we’ll also be bringing alongs wellies and umbrellas just in case.

What have you enjoyed most about wedding planning so far?
I have found it all so fun! Once we had settled on the venues, it became less stressful and far more fun; planning the decorations, thinking about music, outfits etc. Getting people involved with ideas and suggestions has been great, and because its a smallish wedding, lots of people are involved in different ways (i.e. cake making, sewing, speeches etc). I’ve been loving finding loads of DIY tips and tutorials and am looking forward to seeing how all our hardwork pays off on the day.

Have you encountered any problems?
I would say a problem that probably occurs in all weddings, is how hard it is to please everyone! Inevitably, everyone has different opinions, and theres always someone who doesnt entirely agree with your choices, but we’re just trying to stick to exactly what we want to do, and hope that people will still enjoy themselves. Also, being a November wedding, there is a definite worry about the weather. That being said, it’s been raining all summer, so every wedding risks a little rain, but we are having to come up with a few ‘worst case scenario’ preperations!

Have you discovered THE dress?
Yes I have! I actually took quite a gamble with the dress. I originally had no intention of finding my dress this far in advance, but I ended up finding a fantastic deal on the internet, for a second hand Alfred Angelo dress. It is ivory tafetta, with a fitted bodice turning into an a line skirt with a train. It’s very simple, more simple than I had ever thought I would go for, but I fell in love with it. It also had slightly off the shoulder straps, something you don’t see often, and I thought it would be really flattering. I ended up buying it for only £130, and everyone thought I was mad as I had never tried it on! Luckily when it arrived, it was perfect and I love it. I might add a few details to it such as a diamante brooch on the hip, just to make it a tad more personal to me.

Do you have any other suppliers booked? If so, who?
We haven’t got much else planned at this stage, apart from a lovely photographer, Elly Mac. She does vintage style photography that would be perfect for our wedding. We are still gathering quotes for certain things, for example we’d love a Brighton bus to transport our guests around Brighton, especially as it might be pouring with rain!

 What are your hopes for the future Mr and Mrs?
At the risk of sounding a bit ‘pass the sick bucket’, I’d just love for us to stay as happy as we are now, and to keep having as much fun as we are. We are constantly laughing, dancing in the kitchen and being silly, and I am sure marriage won’t change that. Also, I want our future to hold a new home, ginger babies and lots of jack russells!

Do you have any advice for other future brides?
Stick to what you and your future husband want to do! I think you should just plan how YOU want your day to be, and do what you want to do, don’t feel obligated to please people, because you can’t make everyone happy. Cut costs where you can, aside from making sense financially, its also a nice feeling to know that your wedding day will be a labour of love, and get talented friends to help out!

Just how cute?! I take my hat off to Shaun for his proposal, so unbelievably romantic! Big congratulations Misha & Shaun, all the best for your wedding planning and roll on next November!

Laura x

3 Responses to “Bride to Be: Misha”

  1. ellymacphotos August 12, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    I met up with Misha yesterday and her wedding is going to rock! Very honoured and excited to be able to photograph this doo.

    • BonfireNightBride August 13, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

      I can’t wait to see the pics, it sounds fab!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 100th Post Thank You! « - September 8, 2011

    […] Misha Linden […]

Leave a Reply

