Bride to Be: Emma

18 Aug

I’m delighted to introduce to you Emma, fellow Twitter lover and a gorgeous 2012 bride to be!

How did you meet and when did you know he was ‘the one?’

I met Rob on a night out in my local town on a night out. Rob lived in south east London and I was still at Uni in Oxford (not the posh one)  so whilst I was home for the Easter break we met up. Rob took the afternoon off work so we managed to spend 8 hours talking, and drinking and falling for each other!  I soon knew Rob was different because after being together for only a couple of weeks he invited me to his Dad’s 60th Birthday Party with all of his family present.  I knew Rob was ‘the one’ for me as soon as I got to see his warm, caring nature!

Tell me all about the proposal…

When I first met Rob I plainly told him that I didn’t want to get married or have kids…ever! After 3 years together my priorities changed and we had built a life together that I wanted to continue.  So I began dropping hints, then a few more, then I started telling him to ‘S*** or get off the pot’!! Rob would go from talking weddings with me to telling me to stop talking weddings.

We went on holiday to Lanzarote, which was our first holiday abroad together on our own. On our second night we went for a gorgeous meal by the sea front and saw the sun go down. Rob was behaving strange (stranger than usual), and I wondered what was wrong with him. Anyway we said goodbye to the restaurant staff and found out how to get down to the beach. We went for a wonder and found somewhere to sit on the beach. Rob tried to make me look at the stars but I just laughed at him! Rob then got down on one knee and asked me to be his wife!

The Big Day

We are getting married on Friday 18th May 2012 at The Talbot Inn in Ripley, Surrey. The venue is an old coaching inn with lots of history and quirky beauty. The style I am trying to bring to the day is luxury, elegant with fun! Not sure Rob would say the same! Our colours for the day are deep purple, silver and ivory.

I am having two close friends and Rob’s Niece as bridesmaids. All the frocks have been bought and I’m sure they will all look beautiful on the day.

What have you enjoyed the most about your planning so far?

I have really enjoyed the whole planning process so far. I love researching, finding ideas and making my DIY bits. The discovery of Twitter has been fantastic, and I believe our wedding has benefit from it, as I’ve come across suppliers that I don’t think I would have found otherwise. We have had a few bumps along the way, and I’m sure there will be more, but it’s all good practice for married life!

Have you found your dream dress yet?

I have already found THE dress. I didn’t have a budget in mind and looked for the dress I wanted first, before looking at prices. I was able to do this as I have my own savings and my Mum has contributed too.  Daisy LOVE, in Datchet, was only the second bridal shop I went to, as a plus size bride I didn’t just go to any old shop. I would really recommend Daisy LOVE to any plus size brides as the whole shop has dresses that you can try on without losing your ribcage! The dress is close to what I imagined I wanted…but better!

Do you have any other suppliers booked?

We have booked nearly all of our suppliers! Steph at FairyNuff Flowers will be doing our blooms. Sue at Jess Hill Cakes will be making our beauty of a cake. Kaz Fernando will be doing my hair and makeup. Lisa Jane Photography will be snapping our pictures. Oh and Pushka from Buttercup Bus will be transporting me on the day!

What are your hopes for the future as Mr & Mrs?

Who knows what the future holds, hopefully a buying a home and starting a family. I can’t wait for our future; it’s going to be amazing.

Do you have any advice for other brides to be?

I would advise brides to stay positive. I think it’s something that a lot of brides struggle with, when friends and family don’t always act in the way you thought they would, it’s very disheartening. But your wedding day is the start of your married life with your husband and he’s really the only one that matters. Another tip would be don’t be afraid to talk about money with suppliers. If you have a budget for something, tell them and see what you can come up with together. Oh and book suppliers you LIKE! No point liking their product if you don’t like them as a person, because it is likely to cause problems down the line. One more thing…enjoy yourself!

Emma, your advice couldn’t be any more correct! I cannot wait to see your photos considering you have such a unique venue and FAB suppliers!! Good luck with the rest of your planning (even though you sound pretty much on a roll with it :))

You can follow Emma’s wedding planning adventures on Twitter here. Emma also writes a blog that diaries the run up to her and Rob’s big day – She Loves Cake and Weddings.

Laura x

3 Responses to “Bride to Be: Emma”

  1. Eclipse Photography August 18, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    What a lovely story~have a fantastic wedding day & life together.

  2. Nathalie - Buttercup Bus VW Campers August 18, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    Emma is a lovely, lovely lady – I was lucky enough to meet her, when we went for a trial drive in Pushka. I am really looking forwards to her special day – and after reading this blog, feel even more honoured to be a part of it! Can’t wait to see the pictures of her wedding cake too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 100th Post Thank You! « - September 8, 2011

    […] Emma White […]

Leave a Reply

