A Classic NYC Rooftop Wedding – My Friends Nicola & Guy

24 Aug

Nicola was a friend of mine at university who I met through our mutual London dwelling pal, Jess. On a trip down south for my birthday late last year Tom and I met up with Jess for a drink. “Oh did you know Nicky is getting married in New York?” she asked me. “No but I will need to see that!”

And here we are – Nicola and Guy’s beautifully classic New York City wedding. I have to admit I am just a little bit jealous! An absolutely gorgeous day had by a fab couple!

Venue
Well its a bit long winded this but we chose to get married in New York for a number of reasons, Guy has his own business so if we had married in our hometown of Grimsby we would have had to invite a lot of business people to not offend and it would have become more about business and guests you had to have there rather than want there so abroad it was…. We had been to America 3 times together, so America was the country it just seemed ‘US’ pardon the pun ha. We got engaged in Vegas so we wanted to keep that for that and have somewhere different for the wedding. New York was perfect, it was somewhere we had been together already at Christmas and we both wanted to see it in the summer months, NYC is also somewhere people can go for as long as they like, so it suited my idea of weddings abroad as we really wanted people to make their own holiday out of it rather than just go all that way for a wedding. Venue, Midtown loft & Terrace, 5th Ave, was perfect, everything we had ever imagined, it was really easy as we both saw it, thought WOW and booked it. I’m still a bit obsessed with the website! The date was not a special date, it was pick around A-level exam dates, Nic’s Uncles shift patterns and just inside school hols ending as we had no children attending it didn’t seem fair to make people pay more for flights for no reason! week days are cheaper than weekends so we got married on a Monday, 27th June 2011 🙂

The Dress
Well, roughly two weeks after booking the venue, we discovered we were expecting a baby, and so the dress hunt began earlier than anticipated. I have a really sort attention span, I’m crap at making decisions and I change my mind all the time so this didn’t excite me, I was very worried about picking a dress and getting bored of it. Long story short, I tried loads on, spent alot of time in changing rooms feeling the morning sickness but kept looking for the same dress, the same one I tried on first. It was an Ian Stuart dress, Premiere. I was always going to have a simple dress, I’m not one for bling and busy looking dresses, although I always thought I’d have a short 50’s style. Premiere is classic and simple, so I just had to have it! And no, I didn’t get bored of it, and luckily the post baby diet worked and I got into the size I ordered at 11 weeks pregnant! YAY me.
Bridesmaids
Bridesmaids were three of my old friends. Emma the chief is my best friend, we met at nursery but became close when met again at college. Natalie, who was my friend from secondary school and the third, Abigail, who I know from college. It was lovely that our bridesmaids were able to come such a long way to our wedding, we were very happy that they were there. We did end up with a fourth, Harriet, our daughter. She was 10months old and my mum carried her down the alsie, she looked amazing. The girls wore lemon chiffon dresses by Ebony Rose which we had them shorted to knee length. They wore hand made flowers in their hair bought from Etsy, by percyhandmade. They were stunning, all the way from Australia.
Style
Guy buys me a lot of Jo Malone and without really planning it, that became our style. We had black, white and grey for most things. Our bridesmaids dresses and groomsmen’s ties were lemon, it gave a nice touch of colour. I really wanted a timeless feel to the wedding and we were both really happy with the end result. The groom stood out with a handkerchief and brought a bit of ‘him’ to the wedding day by wearing some batman cuff links Harriet bought him for fathers day. Guy loves Batman!!

Flowers
I knew exactly what I wanted when it came to flowers!! Just a simple bouquet of peonies. The bridesmaids had a different flower but the same colour. They had hydrangeas as they remind me of my mums garden. The groomsmen had an ivory rose. We had hydrangea’s on the tables with yellow orchids which was the florists idea, we were happy with the splash of colour they gave. We also had hydrangeas on the chairs down the aisle. Lots of flowers!! I threw my bouquet to ‘single ladies’ by Beyonce. Abigail one of my bridesmaids caught the it, which maybe means another family wedding as she dates my brother!
Favours
We had UK scratch cards for the men in little wallets which read “for richer, for poorer” and the ladies had a bracelet made from hemp, these were called “a wedding wish” basically when the bracelet breaks your wish comes true. We found the idea on another wedding blog and thought it was really sweet, and easy for us to transport to NYC.
The First Dance
For our first dance we had At My Most Beautiful by REM. Guy picked it, it wasn’t one of “our” songs but we had listened to it together a lot and the words seemed prefect. We toyed with a few different songs but settled with this one. We played the others for cutting of the cake, during the cocktail hour and for our last song of the evening. We danced with Harriet after our first dance to an acoustic version of Everlong by The Foo Fighters then I danced with my dad to I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing by Aerosmith….cheese it may be but who cares!
Honeymoon
Our honeymoon plans were to follow on from NYC somewhere close and family friendly so we three Wakefields hopped on a train up to Boston and a ferry to Cape Cod then we spent our final night back in NYC for July 4th. It was perfection and the weather was beautiful. It was so peaceful, just what you need after a busy 8 nights in a city like New York!
Extra special touches
My dad read out a ‘Will’ that I had written when I was 13 during his speech. I didn’t have much at the time to leave anyone but left the following:
I leave my South Park Badge (Stan), my bank money and my Ellesse jumper to my brother Alex, My Ring and my cat to my Mother Judith, I leave my childhood things and any other 3 things to my Dad Roger, I leave my cat toys bought out of my money to my cat Mouse Codd, I leave my Hifi to my friend Rachael, I leave my Bike to my friend Natalie…. and the list went on…. how embarrassing!
Photography – Brian Friedman

Nicky, being a total sucker for NYC I just adore everything about it and you made the most stunning bride! A HUUUUGE congratulations to you and Guy. I wish you both (and little Harriet of course) all the love and happiness in the world as Family Wakefield.
Laura x

10 Responses to “A Classic NYC Rooftop Wedding – My Friends Nicola & Guy”

  1. Peridot August 24, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Oooh, I do love her dress – beautiful neckline.

  2. rachelbeasley August 24, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Beautiful wedding – it makes a change to see something different on blogs! I am so excited to visit NYC for our honeymoon. I now want to take my dress and get pics taken in the middle of the road…

    xxx

    • BonfireNightBride August 24, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

      Thanks Beasley 🙂

      I love that I’ve been able to make this wedding all about the couple rather than the suppliers, that is after all what a wedding should be about! I’m tres jealous of such a gorgeous NYC wedding. Let’s both take our dresses on our honeymoons! I might top it off by doing a full on Jack & Rose pose on the front of our cruise ship on the way! x

  3. Carolyn Scott August 24, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    SUCH a cool location for a wedding! Beautiful!

    • BonfireNightBride August 24, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

      Thanks Carolyn. Definitely know where Tom & I are renewing our vows!! hehe x

  4. Nic August 25, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Thanks for all the lovely comments. We had the best time ever xx

    • Rosaleen mcnee May 15, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

      Amazing wedding, looked at this venue but as we live out of town thought vendors etc too much to deal with, but this looks effortless. Also love that meal was outside. Would you let me email you a couple of questions on how you organised etc. thanks, Rosaleen

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thursday Things « laurababb - August 25, 2011

    […] can check out the rest of their awesome wedding pictures on Bonfire Night Bride The photography credit goes to B-Freed […]

  2. 100th Post Thank You! « - September 8, 2011

    […] Nicola & Guy Wakefield […]

  3. Throwback Feature! » B-Freed Weddings – New York Wedding Photographer, Destination New York Wedding - November 25, 2013

    […] that one of my UK couples, Nicola and Guy, had been featured on @MrsLouPops’ blog, Bonfire Night Bride, a few years back. I had actually never seen the feature, so now seemed like a good time to put it […]

Leave a Reply

