A stunning nautical wedding… and a dinosaur – Lori & Hassan

4 Oct

I have to admit that I have a real soft spot for Carolyn Scott’s work. Her weddings and engagement shoots are everything that Bonfire Night Bride is about – colourful, fun and full of love and it is for this reason that I did a little dance inside when Lori & Hassan’s stunning September 4th, 2011 wedding in Outer Banks (North Carolina) landed in my inbox! It is just exquisite.

It is with regret that Lori & Hassan’s wedding will be my last post on Bonfire Night Bride – I am undecided as to whether I am going to carry on my blog after my own wedding but I may pop up every now and again if I see something that would be rude not to share! 🙂 I am honoured and extremely grateful to go out with such an amazing real wedding from a photographer that is not only amazing at what she does but also a beautiful person. I cannot thank you enough Carolyn!

We weren’t really supposed to shoot this wedding initially, but we were sure glad it happened that way!

I did Lori and Hassan’s engagement pictures in January, which, at this point, seems like eternities ago. Her engagement session inquiry email to me stated, “We’re planning a destination wedding and will most likely pick a local photographer there for the big day.” That’s totally cool and happens a lot. So I went about taking engagement pictures for them in downtown Raleigh on the coldest winter morning ever! I remember shaking, I remember Wrigley, their adorable dog, shaking, but them being very good sports. Well, low and behold, they received their engagement pictures back and decided to book Geoff and me for their Outer Banks wedding. We were super excited, thankful, and honored.

Since their engagement, I’ve photographed their dog Wrigley and Lori’s bridal portraits and feel like I know them quite well. I wasn’t nervous, they weren’t nervous, and the whole wedding was smooth sailing at the Outer Banks. Well, we were slightly nervous the week before when Hurricane Irene hit the coast and flooded their reception venue under 4 feet of water. But the town of Manteo did a fantastic job of cleaning up, and 108 Budleigh looked brand new. It was heart wrenching to see the damage done to some of the areas on the drive in (both structure damage and crop damage).  But all in all, Roanoke Island fared quite well… much better than expected… and the houses had little to no outside damage. Thankfully, it was all very beautiful on their wedding weekend and everyone was thankful. Lori and Hassan enjoyed their beautiful Outer Banks wedding and we were so happy to be there with them to celebrate.

Ceremony Venue: St. Andrews by the Sea Episcopal Church // Nags Head, NC

Reception Venue: 108 Budleigh // Manteo, NC

Officiant: Rev. Phillip Glick

Day-of Coordinator: Karen Kelly, Coastal Event Coordinators

Cake: Linda Bradley

DJ: Don Vaquera, Soundwavz Entertainment

Catering: Lisa Ortega, Ortega’z Grill

Florist: Monica Witt

The lighting in these photographs is amazing! Lori & Hassan you make such a sweet couple and I wish you all the happiness in the world for your future together. Lori you were a beautiful bride! I adore your sparkler send off, something we’re planning to end our night with at at our own wedding.

Laura x

3 Responses to “A stunning nautical wedding… and a dinosaur – Lori & Hassan”

  1. Lori Elfaysal October 5, 2011 at 12:00 am #

    I feel so honored to be blogged here! I agree that Carolyn’s photography is amazing and I’m so grateful she was our photographer! We had a blast and love reliving the day through these awesome photos! Good luck to you with your upcoming wedding – the sparkler send-off was so fun! You’ll love it!

    ~ Lori and Hassan

    • BonfireNightBride October 5, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

      Thank you Lori & Hassan, I’m so glad you like the post! Thank you for reading and for your well wishes, it’s not long til our big day and we’re certainly feeling it fast approaching! hehe

      Best wishes,

      Laura x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Au Revoir! « - October 5, 2011

    […] you saw yesterday’s stunning nautical wedding you will already know that Lori & Hassan’s post was my last on Bonfire Night Bride and I […]

Leave a Reply

